If you want to be a roofer or want to start a roofing enterprise, then you must be familiar with all the laws and compliance of all states. Without the proper knowledge, you may face some unwanted punishment from law enforcement agencies.
But when you gather this knowledge accurately, then forwarding your business will be easier for you. Moreover, if you are a house owner, then it is also needed for you to know the same laws.
Is it hard to be familiar with roofing license issues? Absolutely not. We are here for you to make your concept clear about what states require a roofing license.
So, without delay, let’s jump into the main facts.
What States Require A Roofing License- A quick overview
Among the 50 states in the USA, 21 states require to take licenses or make a registration in times of roofing work. Before starting roofing, just check out your state’s official website to make sure about their requirements. Check: What States Do Not Require A Roofing License.
We have a quick checklist for your convenience to remove all your confusion about this fact.
Let’s check if your state requires a license or not.
To make a roof or start a roofing enterprise in Alabama, you must need a license from authorized state officials. There is a range set up by the authority. You have to take a license for business projects more than $50,000 and for housing projects more than $10,000.
You have to pass 3 consecutive exams such as trade, law, and business exams. Rather than that, you have to submit a minimum of 3 projects completion proof within the previous 3 years.
Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) giving licenses to the roofers in Arizona state. To take this license, you have to pass an exam. Not only that, you have to submit your yearly transaction statement, compensation license for workers, and a security bond.
Projects over $2,000 in Arkansas must need a license from the authorized body. Both the business license and housing license are approved by the Contractors Licensing Board. Submitting yearly transaction statements, compensation licenses for workers are required if you need an unrestricted license.
In Alaska, roofing is included in the specialty contractor list. Due to this, taking licenses to start roofing is a must. The Department of commerce, community, and economic development is designated for giving this license.
For a business license, you have to submit the compensation license for workers, liability insurance, and a minimum of $5,000 bond. For a housing license, you have to complete a course named “Alaska craftsman home program” and pass an exam too.
In California, construction and building licenses are approved by the Contractor state licensing board. If your project budget exceeds $500, then you have to take the license from the authority.
You have to pass an exam but before the exam, you have to show a minimum of 4 years experience in this industry. In addition, a security bond of $15,000 is needed to take the license.
There are two different options that exist in Florida for roofers. The first one is taking certification from CILB to work as a contractor in different projects inside the state. And the other one is making registration as a contractor to work on a specific city inside the state.
If you want to take the certification, then you have to show several documents such as academic and working experience, insurance for roofing, and background history as well. On the contrary, if you want to register as a contractor, then you have to submit a competency certificate, transaction statement, and business insurance.
C-42 certification from the state government is needed if you want to become a roofer in Hawaii. Not only that, you have to go across 3 different exams such as trade, law, and business exams.
There is no need for certification in Idaho for roofers. All you need is to complete a register at the contractor board.
The Department of Professional Regulation issued licenses for roofers in Illinois. Industrial, business, and housing licenses are available here. To get the license, you have to go across a state exam, submit the commercial insurance, and a security bond as well.
If your construction budget crosses $75,000, then you must take a license from the state government in Louisiana. Besides this, for repairing work, the budget limit is $7,500. After passing 3 consecutive exams such as the trade, business, and law exam, you also need to submit the compensation license for workers.
Roofers in Massachusetts must take a license from the state government. To get the license, you have to pass the exam and need to submit 3 years of working experience. You can take two types of licenses: restricted and unrestricted.
In Michigan, you have to go across an exam before taking the license from the state government. The Licensing & Regulatory Affairs Department approves the licenses for roofers.
If the total budget of your construction work crosses $15,000, then you have to take a license in Minnesota. To get the license, you have to pass the trade exam, submit the insurance copy, and a $15,000 security bond.
Roofing construction that is over $10,000 needs a license from the authorized state authority. Along with passing 3 different exams such as trade, business, and law exams, transaction statements and insurance copies need to be submitted.
A C-15 license from the State contractor boards is required if you want to work as a roofer in Nevada. For taking the license, you have to show the following documents:
- Experience of minimum 4 years.
- At least 10 years experience as a worker/supervisor/contractor/employee.
- Finance statement
- Security bond
- Compensation license for workers.
To take certification in New Mexico, you have to show experience of at least 2 years. Along with the trade exam, you have to pass the business exam and law exam.
A roofing budget greater than $30,000 requires a license from the state government in North Carolina. According to the job size, you have to submit the documents of working capital before starting the bidding. Moreover, you have to go across an exam too.
If you are a business roofer, then a license is a must for you in Rhode Island. After passing the exam and submitting the insurance copy as well as the security bond, the state government approves a license for you.
Roofing work more than $5,000 requires a state government license. To get the license, submitting references and a security bond is mandatory.
In Utah, all types of contractors must take a license to continue their work. If you have at least 5 years of roofing experience, then you are eligible for the trade, business, and law exams. Moreover, you have to show the compensation certification for the workers to the authority.
There are different levels for roofers in Virginia. When you apply for the license, you have to select the level that you need. The levels are:
Class A: Project budget on and around $10,000 is in class A.
Class B: Project budget up to $1,20,000 in class B.
Class C: Unrestricted licenses.
Taking a license from the authorized state government saves you from unwanted hassles and fines.
Before starting roofing, cross-check if your state requires a license or not. If your state requires a license, then carefully check out what you have to actually show or submit.
Hopefully from this article, you’ve got a clear idea of what states require a roofing license.
So, now get your own license and enjoy roofing!